Office of General Services

New York State Office of General Services - Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Business Act

Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Businesses

Certification Application Frequently-Asked Questions

How do I obtain a disability rating decision if I do not already have one?
If you have never filed a claim with the federal VA, contact the New York State Division of Veterans' Affairs (DVA) to set up a meeting with a DVA State Veterans Benefits Counselor to determine whether you should file a claim with the federal VA to obtain a rating decision.

What if my service was for active duty for training, such as with the National Guard, Militia, or Reserves?
If you are not eligible for a federal VA rating decision you may still be eligible for this program. You are advised to meet with a DVA State Veterans Benefits Counselor to determine whether you are eligible for a 10 percent rating based on your service in the National Guard, Militia, or Reserves. Contact a DVA State Benefits Counselor to start the process.

What if I am already a Verified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business under the federal program?
Business enterprises that have been verified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Vets First Contracting Program are eligible for an expedited application process requiring less supporting documentation.

Can a business located outside of New York State apply?
Yes. To qualify, a business must be authorized to do business in New York State and must make a contribution to the New York State economy through the payment of taxes, or the purchase of "made in New York State" construction, construction services, technology, commodities or products, or that it has any payroll in New York State.

When can I apply?
Applications for Certification are accepted on a continuing basis.

Does it cost anything to apply for certification?
No. There are no fees related to Certification.

Can I apply for certification before I have my business formed?
No. Any business entity, such as a Sole Proprietorship, Partnership, LLC, etc., may apply.

If I am already certified by another entity do I need to complete the application?

Yes. All business enterprises seeking SDVOB certification with New York State must complete the Vendor Certification Application. Business enterprises that have been verified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Vets First Contracting Program are eligible for an expedited application process requiring fewer supporting documents.

What is the timing of the application process?
DSDVBD is committed to processing applications as rapidly as possible. Applicants will receive written and electronic notification from DSDVBD of a complete or deficient application on or before 30 days of receipt of the application. Applicants will also receive notice of approval or denial of certification on or before 60 days following DSDVBD's notification to the applicant of receipt of a final, completed application.

What if I/we do not have some of the required documents?
All required documents are critical to evaluating the business for certification so every attempt should be made to obtain them prior to submission. If there are specific reasons that a document cannot be made available, write and sign an explanation as to the circumstances and include it with the application.

What can I/we do to make the certification process proceed as fast as possible?

  1. Make sure that you have provided accurate contact information including an email address that is checked regularly;

  2. When submitting the application be sure that:

    1. all fields of the application are complete;
    2. all required signatures are present; and
    3. all required supporting documentation is enclosed.

  3. Immediately respond to requests from DSDVBD for:

    1. corrections of application deficiencies;
    2. requests for additional requirements and/or documentation; and,
    3. promptly arrange for an on-site inspection, if requested.