Brad Maione - Public Affairs Office

(518) 474-5987




For Immediate Release:

Wednesday, June 4, 2008






Governor David A. Paterson and New York Office of General Services (OGS) Commissioner John C. Egan today announced the signing of legislation extending the State Commission on the Restoration of the Capitol for an additional five years. The Commission was created in 1979 to provide professional expertise on protecting the New York State Capitol, a National Historic Landmark.


“I am pleased to sign this bill extending the State Commission on the Restoration of the Capitol,” said Governor David A. Paterson. “It is important that we continue to work together to enable New Yorkers of all ages to enjoy our historic State Capitol. I am confident the Commission will continue to provide for the future of the Capitol while respecting its place in the history of the Empire State.”     


“The Capitol is a living monument and a witness to history,” said Commissioner Egan. “As a steward of state assets and buildings OGS is pleased that the Governor signed this important legislation that will assist in preserving this treasure for future generations of New Yorkers.”


The State Commission on the Restoration of the State Capitol is comprised of 11 members, five are appointed by the Governor, two by the Senate Majority Leader and Speaker of the Assembly, and one each by the Senate and Assembly Minority Leaders. They are joined by the commissioners of OGS and the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.


With the signing of the legislation, the Commission will continue to address the challenges of the rehabilitation, restoration and preservation of the State Capitol.


The commission is charged with overseeing the preservation, rehabilitation, and restoration of the Capitol consistent with the integrity of the original design of the building. There have been a number of projects in the Capitol coordinated by the commission completed in accordance with the 1982 Master Plan for the Capitol. 


In keeping with the mission of the commission, OGS was recognized by the Preservation League of New York with the Excellence in Historic Preservation Award in 2007 for its work on the restoration of the Great Western Staircase in the Capitol. The award recognized OGS for its commitment to the preservation of New York State’s irreplaceable architectural heritage.


OGS manages 44 buildings and facilities across the state. The largest is the Empire State Plaza where 13,000 state employees work each day. The grounds of the plaza includes 15 monuments and memorials honoring New Yorkers of all walks of life.   


The Assembly and Senate sponsors of the bill praised the Governor for signing the legislation extending the commission.  


Assemblyman Jack McEneny said: “I applaud the Governor for recognizing the importance of stewardship for our unique Capitol Building I have been privileged to serve on the commission and know that our work will help to preserve this wonderful historical resource for many generations of New Yorkers and thus visitors.”


Senator Owen H. Johnson said: “The maintenance and restoration of the New York State Capitol is of paramount importance. That’s why I am pleased that the Governor has signed this legislation to extend the Commission on the Restoration of the Capitol.  In this way, the commission can continue the important work they’ve done to preserve this historic treasure.”


Carol Ash, Commissioner of the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation said: “The architectural vision, craftsmanship and history embodied in the State Capitol can never be replaced. The Commission on the Restoration of the Capitol has done an outstanding job preserving this singular New York State landmark, and I am grateful Governor Paterson and the Legislature have made it possible for the commission’s work to continue."   


Commission Chairman Mathew Bender, IV said: “The commission looks forward to continuing to work with OGS Design and Construction and Jim Jamieson, Capitol Architect in restoring and rehabilitating significant public spaces in the Capitol, a national Historic Landmark.”   








Commission Members


Matthew Bender IV, Commission Chairman, Albany

Elizabeth O’C. Little, Member of the New York State Senate, 45th District

John McEneny, Member of the New York State Assembly, 104th District

Laura Anglin, Director, New York State Division of the Budget

John C. Egan, Commissioner, Office of General Services

Carol Ash, Commissioner, Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Robert Bristol, Saratoga, New York

Ross Graham, New York City

Bronwyn Hannon, Garden City

Michael Szemansco, Schenectady

Caledonia Jones, New York City

Benjamin Mendel, Jr., Delmar

Julia Stokes, Saratoga Springs